Skip to content
Skip to content

Celebrating the 104th Graduating Class

Convocation 2019

The Olds College community celebrated Convocation 2019 this past weekend, as hundreds of Olds College graduates crossed the stage. The 104th Convocation Ceremony began with Master of Ceremonies Debbie Thompson celebrating the success of our 2019 Convocates, who have demonstrated determination, hard work and intellect throughout their studies.

Greetings were made by Leona Staples, Chair of Olds College Board of Governors, Earl Dreeshen, Member of Parliament in Red Deer, as well as Demetrios Nicolaides, MLA Calgary-Bow and Minister of Advanced Education. The greetings furthered with Nathan Cooper, MLA of Olds, Didsbury and Three Hills and Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, to follow was Angela White the President of the Olds College Student’s Association.

The 2019 Valedictorian Address was given by Land and Water Resources convocate and recipient of the Alumni Association Outstanding Student Award, Karley Dieken, where she spoke of the importance of being persistent in the past, present and future.

Stuart Cullum, President of Olds College, delivered a message to the convocates, urging them to put forward their knowledge from Olds College and make positive changes in the world.

“Convocates, you are difference makers, equipped today in ways that you were not when you stepped on campus. And all of us are excited about the ways that you will contribute in your professional and personal pursuits. Be your best, by being yourself and we will be better for it,” says President Cullum.


Convocation concluded with graduation award presentations, with awards presented by the Olds College Board of Governors, the Alumni Association, the Faculty Association of Olds College and President Stuart Cullum. Award winners included:

  • Governor General's Academic Collegiate Bronze Medallion
    Connor Smith, Land & Water Resources Diploma

  • Olds College Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award
    Kimberly Haakenson, Land and Water Resources Diploma; Amanda Swanson, Animal Health Technology Diploma; Shawn Brockhoff, Pre-Employment Motorcycle Mechanic Certificate.

  • Olds College Alumni Association Awards
    Karley Dieken, Land and Water Resources Diploma; Madeline Ohlhauser, Veterinary Medical Receptionist Certificate; Connor Smith, Land and Water Resources Diploma

  • Presidential Instructional Excellence Award
    Larry Eskesen, Trades Instructor

  • Dr. Scott Rairdan Memorial Scholarship
    Shelby Bennett, Animal Health Technology Diploma

Congratulations to the Olds College Class of 2019!